Fire Chief: Scott Kitchner

Sweetwater County

Fire District #1

Sweetwater County Fire District #1 (Fire District #1) was created in December of 1995. Our department has a roster of 41 highly motivated firefighters who freely donate their time and accept a degree of personal risk in order to protect lives and property; these firefighters provide a vital service to this district. Our firefighters complete over 4200 hours of training per year and complete an average of 6450 man hours of work on fire calls per year. Fire District #1 is comprised of dedicated firefighters who have a strong commitment to the community and people we serve.

The Fire District #1 fire department is funded solely with local property taxes which generate an average annual operating budget of $970,000 per year. In just a few years we have grown into one of the finest combination Fire Departments in the state of Wyoming with 4 full-time and 37 paid-per-call Firefighters, a fire department Headquarters Station at 3010 College Drive, Station #2 at 102 Apache Lane, eleven pieces of equipment and an average of 388 responses per year.

Fire District #1 is located in the high desert mountains of Sweetwater County in southwestern Wyoming. The boundaries of our District are approximately 2,000 square miles with an average population of 7,500 residents. Within our response area we have oil-gas facilities, the largest coal fired power plant west of the Mississippi River, the Jim Bridger Power Plant, coal mines, chemical facilities, over 50 miles of Interstate 80, 60 miles of Union Pacific mainline railroad and many remote ranches and subdivisions.

The firefighters of Fire District #1 are proud to serve the residents of the district and the surrounding communities and will continue to strive to provide the highest quality and professional service to the people who reside and work within the district.

About Us

(307) 362-9390